Home

SoCuM Research Center promotes interdisciplinary research cooperation between Social and Cultural Studies at Mainz University.

The center aims to unlock the potential of an enduring network between Social and Cultural Studies. For this purpose, SoCuM enables the amalgamation of working groups (“AGs”) in which specific research interests are examined. Furthermore, the center initiates and supports a wide range of events for example, the annual Georg Forster Lectures or the biennial Symposium of Social and Cultural Studies, Mainz.
International stimuli are brought to Mainz through invitations to SoCuM Fellows and guest lecturers.SoCuM Scholarships for outstanding Ph.D. candidates ensure the continuous development of interdisciplinary research between social and cultural studies.

Read more…


Recent News

  • Call for Papers | 4th Mainz Symposium of the Social & Cultural Studies

    Posthuman? New Perspectives on Nature/Culture
    Proposals by e-mail in form of an abstract (400 words) by February 28, 2019 to posthuman@uni-mainz.de.

    The 4th Mainz Symposium of the Social & Cultural Studies "Posthuman? New Perspectives on Nature/Culture" will take place September 19-20, 2019 at Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz. It is carried out by the Research Center of Social and Cultural Studies Mainz (SoCuM). Keynote speakers are Prof. Rosi Braidotti (Utrecht University), Prof. Matthias Groß (Department of Urban and Environmental Sociology, Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research – UFZ) and, as part of the Georg Forster Lecture 2019, Prof. Timothy Ingold (University of Aberdeen).

    | Complete Call for Papers |

Home

Der Forschungsschwerpunkt SoCuM dient der interdisziplinären Forschungskooperation zwischen den Sozial- und Kulturwissenschaften an der Universität Mainz.

SoCuM zielt auf das Innovationspotenzial, das durch ein dauerhaftes Netzwerk zwischen den Sozial- und Kulturwissenschaften entsteht. Hierfür ermöglicht das Zentrum den Zusammenschluss thematischer Arbeitsgruppen. Darüber hinaus initiiert und unterstützt der Forschungsschwerpunkt zahlreiche Veranstaltungen, z.B. die jährlichen Georg Forster Lectures, oder das zweijährig stattfindende Symposium der Sozial und Kulturwissenschaften Mainz.

SoCuM Fellows und Gastdozenten bringen internationale Impulse nach Mainz. Durch den Forschungsschwerpunkt stipendierte Doktoranden sorgen für das kontinuierliche Nachwachsen interdisziplinär verankerter Forschung aus den Sozial- und Kulturwissenschaften.

Mehr…


Aktuelles

  • Call for Papers | 4. Mainzer Symposium der Sozial- und Kulturwissenschaften

    Jenseits des Menschen?
    Posthumane Perspektiven auf Natur/Kultur

    Einreichungen in Form von Abstracts (400 Wörter) bis zum 28.02.2019 an posthuman@uni-mainz.de.
    Vom 19.–20. September 2019 wird an der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz das 4. Mainzer Symposium der Sozial- und Kulturwissenschaften unter dem Titel „Jenseits des Menschen? Posthumane Perspektiven auf Natur/Kultur“ stattfinden. Die Tagung wird durchgeführt vom Forschungsschwerpunkt Social and Cultural Studies Mainz (SoCuM). Keynote-Speaker der Tagung sind Prof. Rosi Braidotti (Utrecht University), Prof. Matthias Groß (Department of Urban and Environmental Sociology, Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research – UFZ) und im Rahmen der Georg Forster Lecture 2019 Prof. Timothy Ingold (University of Aberdeen).

    | Vollständiger Call for Papers |