Prof. Dr. Oliver Scheiding

SoCuM AG 1 / DFG FG 1939

Department of English and Linguistics
American Studies
Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz
Room 02.575
Jakob-Welder-Weg 18
55099 Mainz

Tel: +49 6131 39-22357
Fax: +49 6131 39-20356
E-Mail: scheiding@uni-mainz.de
Website



SoCuM-Project: Pluralism, Boundary-Making, and Community-Building in North-American Religious Periodicals (Within the framework of DFG Forschergruppe FG 1939 Un/doing Differences. Prac­tices of Human Differentiation, established in 2013)

The research project on early North-American religious periodicals explores the role played by the religious press in the boundary-making among denominations, sects, and movements in the antebellum period. Because of the ways in which the press helps to form popular opinion, it is a very important means of society and community building. It not only defines what makes “news” and regulates the dissemination of information, but also who gets to speak in which way about what— and thus shapes the outlook of the respective community of discourse. The project asks in which situations do periodical publications increase and/or diminish religious/ethno-religious differences in support of membership alliances and/or community building. This project also examines the religious press industry in an increasingly pluralistic religious landscape.

Research Interests
Early American studies, periodical studies, the history of book and reading, material culture, literary theory

Academic Background
Oliver Scheiding is Professor of American Studies and one of the directors of the American literature program at Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, Germany. He earned his PhD in American Literature from Hamburg University in 1994. He has received grants from Fulbright and the German Academic Exchange Service for guest professorships at the University of Maryland, College Park, Washington University, Seattle, and York University, Toronto. He edits the journal Amerikastudien – American Studies on behalf of the German Association of American Studies. He is also co-editor of the monograph series “MOSAIC: Studien und Texte zur amerikanischen Kultur und Geschichte.” Currently, Oliver Scheiding is leading a research team on American periodicals funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG). As part of this project he is mapping the extensive print, knowledge, and communication networks in the Atlantic world of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Publications (Top 5)

2014
Worlding America: A Transnational Anthology of Short Narratives Before 1800. Stanford: Stanford UP (forthcoming).
2013
A Peculiar Mixture: German-Language Cultures and Identities in Eighteenth-Century North America. University Park, PA: Penn State University Press. (The Max Kade Institute German-American Research Series).
2012
New Historicism and Discourse Analysis. In: Middeke, M. et al. (eds.): English and American Studies: Theory and Practice. Stuttgart: Metzler. P. 204-208.
2011
Diskurse und Praktiken: Zur Literaturwissenschaft im Spiegel der neuen Kultursoziologie. In: Scheiding, O./ Obenland, F./ Spahr, C. (eds.): Kulturtheorien im Dialog: Neue Positionen zum Verhältnis zwischen Text und Kontext. Berlin: Akademieverlag.
2010
Native American Studies Across Time and Space: Essays on the Indigenous Americas. Heidelberg: Winter. (American Studies – A Monograph Series).

Prof. Dr. Oliver Scheiding

SoCuM AG 1 / DFG FG 1939

Department of English and Linguistics
American Studies
Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz
Raum 02.575
Jakob-Welder-Weg 18
55099 Mainz

Tel: +49 6131 39-22357
Fax: +49 6131 39-20356
E-Mail: scheiding@uni-mainz.de
Website



SoCuM-Projekt: Pluralismus, Grenzziehung und Gemeinschaftsbildung in nordamerikanischen religiösen Zeitschriften (Teilprojekt im Rahmen der 2013 eingerichteten DFG Forschergruppe FG 1939 Un/doing Differences. Praktiken der Humandifferenzierung)

Das Forschungsprojekt zu frühen nordamerikanischen religiösen Zeitschriften untersucht die Rolle, die die religiöse Presse beim Prozess der Grenzziehung zwischen einzelnen Konfessionen, Sekten und religiösen Bewegungen vor dem Sezessionskrieg spielte. Presseorgane sind an der Herausbildung populärer Meinungen beteiligt und daher im Zusammenhang mit der Entstehung von Gesellschaften und Gemeinschaften von großer Bedeutung: Die Presse definiert nicht nur, was Neuigkeitswert besitzt und reguliert zugleich die Verbreitung von Informationen, sondern sie bestimmt darüber hinaus wer auf welche Weise und über welche Inhalte spricht – insofern formt die Presse Anschauungen innerhalb von Diskurs-Gemeinschaften.
Das Projekt hinterfragt, in welchen Kontexten Zeitschriften ethnisch-religiöse Differenzen verstärken bzw. verringern und dabei Teilnehmerbündnisse und Gemeinschaftsbildung unterstützen. Das Projekt untersucht in diesem Zusammenhang auch die religiöse Presseindustrie in einer zunehmend pluralistischen Welt.

Forschungsinteressen
Early American studies, Zeitschriften Studien, die Geschichte des Buchs und des Lesens, materielle Kultur und Literaturwissenschaft

Wissenschaftlicher Werdegang
Oliver Scheiding ist Professor für American Studies und einer der Leiter des Programms American Literature der Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz. 1994 promovierte er in Amerikanischer Literaturwissenschaft an der Universität Hamburg. Als Fulbright- und DAAD-Stipendiat war er als Gastprofessor an der University of Maryland, College Park, an der Washington University, Seattle und an der York University, Toronto. Er ist Herausgeber der Zeitschrift Amerikastudien – American Studies der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Amerikastudien. Als einer der Herausgeber betreut er weiterhin die Schriftenreihe MOSAIC: Studien und Texte zur amerikanischen Kultur und Geschichte. Derzeit leitet Oliver Scheiding ein DFG-gefördertes Forschungsprojekt zu Amerikanischen Zeitschriften; Teil dieses Projekts ist die Auslotung des umfassenden Netzwerks zwischen Druck, Wissen und Kommunikationen in der „atlantischen Welt“ des achtzehnten und neunzehnten Jahrhunderts.

Publikationen (Top 5)

2014
Worlding America: A Transnational Anthology of Short Narratives Before 1800. Stanford: Stanford UP. (Im Erscheinen)
2013
A Peculiar Mixture: German-Language Cultures and Identities in Eighteenth-Century North America. The Max Kade Institute German-American Research Series. University Park, PA: Penn State University Press.
2012
New Historicism and Discourse Analysis. In: M. Middeke et al. (Hrsg.): English and American Studies: Theory and Practice. Stuttgart: Metzler. S. 204-208.
2011
Diskurse und Praktiken: Zur Literaturwissenschaft im Spiegel der neuen Kultursoziologie. In: O. Scheiding, F. Obenland und C. Spahr (Hrsg.): Kulturtheorien im Dialog: Neue Positionen zum Verhältnis zwischen Text und Kontext. Berlin: Akademieverlag.
2010
Native American Studies Across Time and Space: Essays on the Indigenous Americas. American Studies – A Monograph Series. Heidelberg: Winter.