Prof. Dr. Herbert Kalthoff

SoCuM Spokesperson, SoCuM AG1 / DFG FG 1939

Institute of Sociology
Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz
Room 03-432
Georg-Forster-Building
Jakob-Welder-Weg 12
55128 Mainz

Tel: +49 6131 39-24044
Fax: +49 6131 39-24043
E-Mail: herbert.kalthoff@uni-mainz.de
Website



SoCuM Project: The Objectification of Judgments in the Institutional Categorization of Schools (Subproject within the scope of DFG Research Group FG 1939 Un/doing Differences: Practices of Human Differentiation, established in 2013)

Various societal institutions are concerned with the lasting categorization of society’s members. In modern societies, the institution of school falls into a particularly prominent position in this categorization. This project examines the production of good/bad and gifted/not gifted pupils as an example of school evaluation practices. Educational classification is deemed to be a reliable and institutionally embedded way of segregating individuals through labeling, and thereby steering them towards entrances into educational and professional careers. Central to these differentiation practices is, firstly, the contingent assessment of teachers, which – in aggregation by grades – simultaneously describes and accredits ‘performance’. Secondly, these classifications, carried out by teachers as part of institutional processes, are objectified. The research project examines educational classification as a social drama, in which ‘performance’ and its evaluation are performed and presented, adopted and taken on, stored and calculated. The project carries out empirical research in primary schools and high schools on educational assessment as the hierarchical labeling of individuals, institutional differential gain as well as justification and appropriation of classification.

Research Interests
Educational Sociology, Financial Sociology, Qualitative Methods

Academic Background
Herbert Kalthoff has been Professor of Knowledge and Educational Sociology as well as for Qualitative Methods at Mainz University since 2008. Before that he temporarily replaced the Professor of Sociology at PH Heidelberg. He was Guest Researcher at the Max Planck Institute for Society Research in Cologne, and Professor of Sociology at the Zeppelin University in Friedrichshafen, Guest Professor at the Institute for Advanced Studies in Vienna and Visiting Scholar at the London School of Economics and Political Science. He was a research associate at Constance University and at the European University Viadrina Frankfurt/Oder, where he achieved his qualification in university lecturing in the Faculty of Cultural Sociology in 2003. He received his PhD at Bielefeld University in 1995, and before that, his Diploma in Social Sciences in 1991 after studying Sociology at the EHESS (Paris) with Pierre Bourdieu, and at the Universities of Hannover and Bielefeld. He was also Research Fellow of DFG and Chairman and Director of the DGS Department of Qualitative Research Methods.

Publications (Top 5)

2014
(with Torsten Cress und Tobias Röhl, ed.:) Materialitäten. Herausforderungen für die Kultur- und Sozialwissenschaften. München: Fink.
2011
Un/Doing Calculation. On Knowledge Practices of Risk Management. In: Distinktion. Scandinavian Journal of Social Theory 12. P. 3-21.
2005
Practices of Calculation. Economic Representation and Risk Management. In: Theory, Culture & Society 22/2. P. 69-97.
2003
Beobachtende Differenz. Instrumente der ethnografisch-soziologischen Forschung. In: Zeitschrift für Soziologie 32. P. 70-90.
1996
Das Zensurenpanoptikum. Eine ethnographische Studie zur schulischen Bewertungspraxis. In: Zeitschrift für Soziologie 25. P. 106-124.

Prof. Dr. Herbert Kalthoff

SoCuM-Sprecher, SoCuM AG1 / DFG FG 1939

Institut für Soziologie
Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz
Raum 03-432
Georg-Forster-Gebäude
Jakob-Welder-Weg 12
55128 Mainz

Tel: +49 6131 39-24044
Fax: +49 6131 39-24043
E-Mail: herbert.kalthoff@uni-mainz.de
Website



SoCuM-Projekt: Die Objektivierung von Urteilen in der institutionellen Kategorisierung von Schülern (Teilprojekt im Rahmen der 2013 eingerichteten DFG Forschergruppe FG 1939 Un/doing Differences. Praktiken der Humandifferenzierung)

Verschiedene gesellschaftliche Institutionen sorgen für dauerhafte Kategorisierungen der Gesellschaftsmitglieder. In modernen Gesellschaften fällt dabei der Institution Schule eine besonders herausgehobene Position zu. Hier setzt das Projekt an: Am Beispiel der schulischen Bewertungspraxis wird die Herstellung guter/schlechter, begabter/nicht-begabter Schüler untersucht. Die schulische Klassifikation gilt dabei als zuverlässige und institutionell verankerte Form, Individuen durch Markierung zu entmischen und damit Zugänge zu schulischen und professionellen Laufbahnen zu steuern. Zentral für diese Differenzierungspraxis sind erstens kontingente Lehrerurteile, die – aggregiert in Zensuren – die ‚Leistung‘ zugleich beschreiben und zuschreiben. Zweitens werden diese von Lehrpersonen vorgenommenen Klassifikationen durch institutionelle Verfahren der Schule objektiviert. Das Forschungsprojekt untersucht die schulische Klassifikation als ein soziales Drama, in dem ‚Leistung‘ und ihre Bewertung aufgeführt und dargestellt, angeeignet und unterlaufen, gespeichert und berechnet werden. Empirisch untersucht das Forschungsprojekt an Grundschulen und Gymnasien die schulische Bewertung als hierarchisierende Markierung von Personen, die institutionelle Differenzverstärkung sowie die Rechtfertigung und Aneignung der Klassifikation.

Forschungsinteressen
Bildungssoziologie, Finanzsoziologie, qualitative Methoden

Wissenschaftlicher Werdegang
Herbert Kalthoff ist seit 2008 Professor für Wissens- und Bildungssoziologie sowie für qualitative Methoden an der Universität Mainz. Zuvor vertrat er die Professur für Soziologie an der PH Heidelberg. Er war Gastwissenschaftler am Max-Planck-Institut für Gesellschaftsforschung in Köln, a.o. Professor für Soziologie an der Zeppelin University in Friedrichshafen, Gastprofessor am Institut für Höhere Studien in Wien und Visiting Scholar an der London School of Economics and Political Science. Er war wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an der Universität Konstanz und an der Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt/Oder, an deren Fakultät für Kulturwissenschaften 2003 auch die Habilitation erfolgte. 1995 promovierte er an der Universität Bielefeld. Sein Studium der Soziologie an der EHESS (Paris) bei Pierre Bourdieu und den Universitäten Hannover und Bielefeld, schloss er 1991 mit einem Diplom in Sozialwissenschaften ab. Er war Forschungsstipendiat der DFG und von 2002-2008 Vorstand bzw. Sprecher der DGS-Sektion Methoden der qualitativen Forschung.

Publikationen (Top 5)

2014
(mit Torsten Cress und Tobias Röhl, Hrsg.:) Materialitäten. Herausforderungen für die Kultur- und Sozialwissenschaften. München: Fink.
2011
Un/Doing Calculation. On Knowledge Practices of Risk Management. In: Distinktion. Scandinavian Journal of Social Theory 12. S. 3-21.
2005
Practices of Calculation. Economic Representation and Risk Management. In: Theory, Culture & Society 22/2. S. 69-97.
2003
Beobachtende Differenz. Instrumente der ethnografisch-soziologischen Forschung. In: Zeitschrift für Soziologie 32. S. 70-90.
1996
Das Zensurenpanoptikum. Eine ethnographische Studie zur schulischen Bewertungspraxis. In: Zeitschrift für Soziologie 25. S. 106-124.